We are committed to ensuring the welfare and safety of all children in our schools and, through our policies, procedures and attitudes, strive to promote a culture of shared responsibility for all aspects of safeguarding. All North Yorkshire schools, including Barton, East Cowton, Kirkby Fleetham and Ravensworth Church of England Primary Schools, follow the North Yorkshire Safeguarding Children Partnership procedures.

Designated Safeguarding Leads are:
Mrs Kirstie Petch – Headteacher
Mrs Amy Whiteley – Barton Base Leader
Miss Holly Coxon – East Cowton Base Leader
Mrs Kirsti Hume – Deputy Headteacher and Kirkbyu Fleetham Base Leader
Mrs Kellie Harris – Ravensworth Base Leader
Miss Amy Crisp – SENCo across all four schools

All staff, including temporary staff, and volunteers in school are subject to stringent background checks including clearance with the Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) to ensure their suitability for working with children. We maintain a single central register containing details of all adults in regulated activity. This is audited regularly.
The named Governor for Safeguarding is Mrs Jean Lang.

The named Safeguarding Lead for Dales Academies Trust is Bishop Paul Ferguson
All contact details for all safeguarding leads can be found in our safeguarding policy.

School CP Policy 2023 – 2024School-CP-Manual-2023-2024

The latest government guidance on safeguarding can be found here:

Keeping Children Safe in Education 2023


If you have a concern about a child or a member of staff, please click here to use this form to inform the school.


Translate »